London Borough of Islington

Licensing Committee - 16 May 2023

Minutes of the meeting of the Licensing Committee held at Committee Room 4, Town Hall, Upper Street, N1 2UD on 16 May 2023 at 6.20 pm.

Present: Councillors: Angelo Weekes (Chair), Valerie Bossman-Quarshie,

Ilkay Cinko-Oner, Joseph Croft, Phil Graham, Bashir Ibrahim, Clare Jeapes, Ernestas Jegorovas-Armstrong, Praful Nargund and Asima Shaikh.

Councillor Angelo Weekes in the Chair

11 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Item 1)

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Ben Mackmurdie, Matt Nathan, Marian Spall, Heather Staff and Nick Wayne.

12 <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)</u>

None.

13 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Item 3) RESOLVED

That the minutes of the meeting held on the 17 November 2022 be confirmed as a correct record and the Chair be authorised to sign them.

14 <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES FOR 2023/2024</u> <u>AND DELEGATION OF LICENSING FUNCTIONS (Item 1)</u>

The legal advisor reported on amendments to the Licensing Committee Terms of Reference that were being submitted to the Audit Committee on the 23 May 2023 for approval.

RESOLVED that

- a) Four Licensing Sub-Committees be established for the municipal year 2023/2024 with the terms of reference set out in appendix 1 of the report, and with the proposed changes noted, and that all functions falling within the terms of reference be delegated to them;
- b) The following members, Chairs and Vice-Chairs be appointed for the municipal year 2023/2024 or until successors are appointed;

Licensing Committee - 16 May 2023

Licensing Sub-Committee A

Members:	Substitutes:
Councillor Heather Staff (Chair)	All other members of the Licensing
Councillor Valerie Bossman-	Committee.
Quarshie (Vice-Chair)	
Councillor Praful Nargund	

Licensing Sub-Committee B

Members:	Substitutes:
Councillor Bashir Ibrahim (Chair)	All other members of the Licensing
Councillor Nick Wayne (Vice-Chair)	Committee.
Councillor Ilkay Cinko-Oner	

Licensing Sub-Committee C

Members:	Substitutes:
Councillor Angelo Weekes (Chair) Councillor Asima Shaikh (Vice- Chair)	All other members of the Licensing Committee.
Councillor Joseph Croft	

Licensing Sub-Committee D

Members:	Substitutes:
Councillor Phil Graham (Chair)	All other members of the Licensing
Councillor Marian Spall (Vice-Chair)	Committee.
Councillor Clare Jeapes	

c) it be noted that the following are members of the Licensing Committee and are substitutes for all of the Licensing Sub-Committees:-

Councillor Ben Mackmurdie Councillor Matt Nathan

Councillor Ernestas Jegorovas-Armstrong

d) That the terms of reference for the Licensing Committee as set out in Appendix 2 and the proposed amendments be noted.

The meeting ended at 6.25 pm

CHAIR